I’m not at all sure about paediasure

Standard

I’m not really someone who likes to get into arguments on my blog , and I certainly don’t have a holier than though attitude … But today I’ve noticed something that’s concerned me a little. “PaediaSure Shake is a delicious supplement drink for children who are fussy eaters
I’ve seen a few reviews for paediasure , a powder , similar to infant formula in a tin , although you can buy it ready made and although from what I’ve read by googling it does have a place for children who having actual difficulties with food. Perhaps due to health reasons etc , but I have seen it reviewed as a product for fussy eaters.
Now trust me I know fussy eaters. My 14 year old is a very fussy eater but she’s gone from eating only potato , pasta , cereal and bread to eating a much better diet through perseverance and always being offered foods and also by having the nutritional value of food taught to her.
We’ve had tears and tantrums at the table but now she’s a much better eater , I also have a12 year old who was a picky eater but by trying the ‘just try one ‘ approach ie literally putting one pea or one piece of carrot on her plate eventually she grew To like more foods.
I also have two autistic boys , one doesn’t like the way lots of foods feel in his mouth , he also gets anxious over trying new things so his diet is limited …. Although I regularly introduce new things and slowly he accepts them.
My 9 year old Oliver doesn’t like unfamiliar food and at the moment is fixated on cereal. He also imagines there is hair on his food. Which causes difficulties at mealtimes.
But both the girls with all their pickiness and my two autistic boys are growing healthily , ollie is just a touch underweight , I get the boys weighed regularly and if the doctor decided there was a problem I may try such a product as paediasure but not without medical advice.
My worry would be that with , for example the fussy girls giving them a drink instead of encouraging a meal would have taught them that they needn’t worry about the meal as they would get a drink , much quicker and easier to deal with.
With my autistic boys there’s a real chance that they may start to fixate on and rely on these drinks. As it’s so much easier than having to cope with different textures in your mouth and new tastes. I know ollie would see it as an easy way out. That’s why I would never buy it unless it was part of a nutrition plan including food made by a doctor.

If you have a picky eater , it’s difficult , frustrating , I know. But see your gp to rule out any underlying cause , then gather knowledge and information on helping a picky eater. I know this takes time and we as parents are tired , but ultimately we want our children to have healthy relationships with food. Real food. Not a meal in a drink.
I feel that sometimes these products are marketed to play on the fears of parents that have picky eaters but you can help your child to learn to eat better without introducing these drinks , which are costly by the way.

I’m not against the drinks themselves , on
Medical advice I’m sure they can be very helpful , and I will raise my hand and say that sometimes when Ollie has been run down and very weak , before Christmas for example when he had a sickness bug and couldn’t eat for days which was followed by huge anxiety about eating again , I bought him a box of build up , just a box , 4 sachets to help him get a little strength back , so ‘as I told him he’d be feeling ready to eat again.
What I’m against is that you can buy them anywhere without prescription , they are expensive and for parents of fussy eaters they may seem to good to resist. That I’m sure is what the marketing teams are going for.

If you have a fussy eater
Or a child with genuine medical eating problems
• seek medical advice first
• have their height and weight checked
•ask to see a dietician
•arm yourself with knowledge and tools to help your fussy eater
• if your doctor recommends something like paediasure then use it.

But please don’t buy Into this costly drink which may actually make it more difficult to wean your picky child onto a larger range of food.

I think it’s probably best to leave the recommending of such things to the medical profession. Rather than say amazon who say “Suitable as a nutritional supplement or as a sole source of nutrition for patients who cannot or will not eat sufficient quantities of everyday food and drink to meet their nutritional requirements .( is it for amazon to decide something can be a sole source of nutrition for a child ?) or a blog reviewer.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve only spotted a couple, I couldn’t imagine us using it. When H has been fussy with food it has been a phase, and she’s gone back to it (or told me it’s nicer at school/nursery/etc anyway!) – reminds me of the time I did SlimFast which was just horrible!!! And not very healthy at all or nice…

  2. I get a bit concerned about anything like this too. Slimming drinks, children’s meal replacements…they’re full of chemicals and we surely need some fibre and roughage or we wouldn’t have teeth! That is my opinion anyway.

Leave a Reply

