The one where Ollie is grumpy …. But so sweet

Standard

My funny little boy.
For weeks he’s asked if he can stay up till midnight to see Big Ben strike twelve.
And to watch the fireworks.
I gave in.
It’s lonely with the girls away.
I wanted company.
He was in my room most of the night.
On the iPad.
But at 11:50pm I called him down.
” I don’t want to ” he shouted.
I called him again.
” I haven’t let you stay up for nothing”
He sat down and grumbled a bit.
He watched the fireworks.
” that was a waste of time ” he said and grumbled that I’m always forcing him to do stuff like watching the fireworks and going to the cinema yesterday.
” but you wanted to stay up late to see the fireworks ” I told him.
” I WAS LYING REALLY I JUST WANTED A CHANCE TO HAVE LONGER ON THE IPAD ”
he stormed off.

” happy new year Ollie ” I called after him.
” happy poo poo ” was his grumpy reply.

In bed I thought he was asleep .
I kissed his face and told him he makes me happy.
He whispered ” you make me proud

I love that funny , complicated , sweet little boy !

One response »

Leave a Reply

