Lentil bolognese and the missing coconut milk

Standard

Today I made lentil bolognese because
A) ALOT of things I’m good at making use quorn mince , bolognese , cottage pie, lasagne, chilli and sometimes you can have too much of one thing

B) I’m trying to use lots more vegetables

C) I forgot to buy coconut milk for the quorn curry I had planned for today.

I found a few recipes on the Internet but I didn’t like everything in any of them , so I jiggled them around a bit.

I used

Two tins chopped tomatoes ( tesco value are just as good as the expensive ones )

1 onion

1 red pepper

1 green pepper

1 carrot

1 clove of garlic

1 tablespoon of dark soy sauce

A blob of tomato purée

Black pepper

A tin of green lentils.

I cooked the onions in a pan with some olive oil , when they were getting soft I added the peppers , carrot , and garlic

I cooked it all for a while ( very precise cooking times, I know)

Then added the tomato purée , soy sauce and black pepper.

Because I have a fussy family that don’t like bits in sauce * sigh* I chucked it all in the blender for a minute.

Then I put it back in the saucepan and added the lentils.

I cooked it on a medium to low heat while the pasta cooked , when it was all done I drained the pasta and stirred the lentil bolognese on to it.

Excuse the rubbish photo , I was halfway done eating when I remembered to take a pic.

20130911-173555.jpg

It could have done with a sprinkle of cheese on top , if I had remembered to buy cheese but otherwise it was delicious.

There was some bolognese leftover as lentils were a step too far for the kids :-/, they had chips in curry sauce with naan bread Instead. so I have popped it in the freezer , next week I will have a ready made healthy meal ready and waiting for me.

And tomorrow I have a curry sauce waiting for me , it just needs some coconut milk.

Organised and eating well. What’s wrong with me ?

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

