Sometimes I wish that I could freeze the picture

Standard

Schoolbag in hand, she leaves home in the early morning
Waving goodbye with an absent-minded smile
I watch her go with a surge of that well-known sadness
And I have to sit down for a while
The feeling that I’m losing her forever
And without really entering her world
I’m glad whenever I can share her laughter
That funny little girl

Slipping through my fingers all the time ( abba lyrics. Slipping through my fingers)

A year ago my 11 y/o finished primary school. She had the part she wanted in the leavers show and sang beautifully , it was Joseph , she was the narrator. Obvs I cried watching her singing and enjoying herself on stage with her friends for the last time.
I think only 3 of her year went to her secondary school.
And then the last day was just heartbreaking. Teachers crying , year sixes crying everywhere and my Zoë crying her heart out which made me cry.
She wasn’t my first one to leave primary but she was my most shy. Through year 5 and 6 she had had a mild tic ( a snorting sound ) when she was a bit anxious so I was worried how she would settle into big school. I also put her into a different school to the 5 that have gone up before her. It suited her better , nearer , much better school and its a posh girls school.
I can’t believe that almost a year ago Zoë and I went to the school for her to have a day of exams.
I cried leaving her there alone ,
Then again on her first day I wanted to take her on the bus.
We got on together but she saw some friends going the same way and said ” mum I want to go alone please ” I gave her a kiss , said ” yes that’s great , bye ” got off at the next stop leaving her on the bus and cried like a baby.

A school year later and well ,that shy quiet little girl has blossomed into a funny loud bright bubbly young lady.
She has made so many friends.
She leaves super early every day to get to school and meet her friends.
She’s doing so well in all her lessons. Bit slack on the homework but she’s getting more used to it now.
She’s confident , she’s joined after school clubs , and she’s just doing me so proud. A year has changed so much.

20130717-222910.jpg
Zoë a year ago

20130717-223021.jpg

Zoë now.

My youngest girl.
My girls are all growing up so fast.

20130717-223253.jpg
My biggest girl

20130717-223343.jpg

My middle girl
Sometimes I wish that I could freeze the picture
And save it from the funny tricks of time
Slipping through my fingers…

* lyrics from one of my favourite abba songs

Leave a Reply

