I love books …. Books I love.

Standard

I love books. I love to read. There’s absolutely nothing I like to do more when I have *spare time
* housework I should be doing
I know I’ve said it before but I needed to start this post somehow so I’m saying it again. I love books.

Recently I’ve moved away from the paranormal books I’ve been reading for a long time and I’ve been reading books with mental health as the subject matter. ( fiction) it doesn’t sound like much fun , but I’ve thoroughly enjoyed these books ..
I read winter girls which I have written a post about already but in case you didn’t see it , this book is about Lia , a girl struggling with anorexia. Her best friend cassie was found dead in a motel room , she called Lia 33 times before she died. Lia didn’t answer. Now she is struggling with the guilt as well as a troubled family life. I thought this book gave a good insight into anorexia , without glamourising it. It was very well written , I really cared about Lia ! I have no experience of anorexia and I felt that this book shone some light on what it’s like to live with anorexia. It’s also made me want to seek out similar books .
The curious incident of the dog in the night time
I think everybody has heard of this book. And i think it’s earned it’s reputation.
It’s the story of Christopher , a 15 year old boy with aspergers and what happens when he finds his neighbours dog dead. He starts to investigate the murder, and uncovers some shocking secrets. This is one of the best books I’ve read. It gives a really good understanding of autism and what it’s like for the person with autism, this book is well worth reading if you know someone with aspergers , want to know more about aspergers or even if you just like to read a very good book.
It’s kind of a funny story is about Craig. A teenager with depression. The events leading up to him checking himself into a psychiatric ward. This book was moving , funny and as the author did actually spend 5 days in a psychiatric ward as a teenager I think it gives an honest insight into depression , how it feels , what it’s like to live with it , as I have a teenager that suffers from depression I found it to be a really useful read.
my brother Simple the story of Simple , a 22 year old with learning difficulties and his 17 year old brother Kleber. Knowing how unhappy Simple was in the institution where their dad sent him to after he remarried Kleber takes it upon himself to look after Simple. They go to Paris where Kleber will go to college. They move into a flat share with four students. The people and relationships around them change when Kleber and Simple become part of their lives. This book is , I felt about the way we make assumptions of other people. It’s a heartwarming , moving read. It’s a short book but very enjoyable and thought provoking.
The woman who went to bed for a year this is the story of Eva. When her 17 year old twins leave for university Eva goes to bed , and stays there for a year.
Her whole world and the people in it change all around her. Eva doesn’t know why she’s gone to bed but once she’s there she doesn’t know how to get up again. To begin with people have to start looking after her , her husband , mum and mother in law and she becomes a bit of a celebrity as the woman who doesn’t get out of bed but after a year she is living with her bedroom door boarded up , just leaving a space for food to be pushed through.
I’m not sure if this book is supposed to get you thinking about depression but it does. Eva is clearly depressed.She’s unhappy with her life. She takes to her bed for the safety and security of it. As they cope with Eva being in bed the lives of everyone around Eva change. I think This book makes you think about not judging people too quickly on who you THINK they are. And how a little kindness can have a big effect on people.
This book was not one that I would usually pick up in a book shop , it was because it was on offer that i bought it but I really enjoyed it.

I would recommend all of these books , not just to someone who enjoys books with mental health as the subject matter but to anyone who enjoys thought provoking , insightful heart warming books.

3 responses »

  1. reading is my favourite pastime as well. I can’t sleep unless i wind down with a book. I’m going to look for some of these titles and will report back – this is like cyber book club 🙂

  2. I’m a big reader too. I’ve just joined a book club at work and we’re reading The Night Circus. So far so good. I’d recomment “We Need To Talk About Kevin” & “The Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Window And Disappeared”

Leave a Reply

